Seedance vs Veo 3.1 for Music Videos: Cost Per Finished Minute

This post contains affiliate links — if you sign up through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you (disclosure). Researched and edited for accuracy with AI assistance.

Quick answer: Veo 3.1 is cheaper on like-for-like tiers. At 720p and three takes per kept shot, Veo 3.1 Fast costs $18 per finished minute on the Gemini API, against $21.60 for Seedance 2.0 Fast. Video-only Veo Standard costs $36 on Vertex AI, against $41.58 for Seedance 2.5. Seedance earns its premium where shots must land on the beat.

We have made music videos with both tools, and the per-second rate was never the number that mattered. What matters is the cost of sixty seconds you would show an audience. This Seedance vs Veo 3.1 comparison works that out route by route, with every rate read on October 21, 2026 and the arithmetic shown.

How do we define a finished minute?

A finished minute is sixty seconds of footage that survives the edit. We budget three generations for every shot we keep, so one finished minute costs 180 generated seconds, and we price everything at 720p because both tools charge more above it.

Three takes per keeper is our working ratio, not a law. On simple B-roll we sometimes keep the first take. On a singer hitting a chorus we often need more. Both tools bill for what you generate, not what you keep.

One asymmetry first. ByteDance charges only for successful generations and the Seedance credit platform refunds failed ones. We found no equivalent statement on Google's pricing pages.

What does a finished minute of Veo 3.1 cost through the API?

Between $9 and $72 on the Gemini API at 720p, depending on the tier, and less on Vertex AI if you skip the audio. Google's Gemini API pricing page, read October 21, 2026 and last updated October 1, 2026, lists Veo 3.1 Lite at $0.05 per second, Fast at $0.10 and Standard at $0.40. Multiply by 180 generated seconds for the finished-minute price.

Those rates include generated audio, which a music video mutes. Google's Vertex AI pricing page, read the same day, also lists video-only rates. Standard drops to half, $0.20 per second at 720p or 1080p. Fast and Lite drop less, to $0.08 and $0.03 at 720p.

The Gemini API page has no video-only rate, so Vertex is the cheapest pay-as-you-go way to buy Standard-quality Veo for a music video. A subscription goes lower: Flow on an AI Ultra plan brings Veo 3.1 Quality to $18.40 to $23 per finished minute.

Veo 3.1 route (720p unless noted)Rate per secondPer finished minute (180 s)
Lite, Gemini API, with audio$0.05$9.00
Fast, Vertex AI, video only$0.08$14.40
Fast, Gemini API, with audio$0.10$18.00
Standard, Vertex AI, video only$0.20$36.00
Standard, Gemini API, with audio$0.40$72.00
Standard, Gemini API, 4K with audio$0.60$108.00

Google's Veo 3.1 model card, last updated October 16, 2026, lists clips of 4, 6 or 8 seconds, so 180 generated seconds is at least 23 generations and 22 seams. The Gemini API offers no free tier for Veo.

What does a finished minute of Veo 3.1 cost inside Google Flow?

About $46 on Google AI Pro for Veo 3.1 Quality, $9 for Fast and $5 for Lite, if you value Pro's 1,000 monthly credits at the plan's $19.99 price. The two Ultra plans cut Quality to $23 and $18. The free tier cannot run Quality at all, because a Quality generation costs 100 credits and free accounts get 50 a day with no rollover.

The credit table comes from Google's Flow help page, read October 21, 2026: Veo 3.1 Quality is 100 credits per 8-second generation for every user; Fast is 20 credits, or 10 on Ultra; Lite is 10, or 5 on Ultra. Quality allows 8 seconds only, and the charge is per generation rather than per request.

Plan prices come from Google's plans page for the United States, read the same day: AI Pro $19.99 with 1,000 Flow credits a month, AI Ultra $99.99 with 10,000 and AI Ultra $199.99 with 25,000. Everyone, subscriber or not, also gets 50 credits a day that do not roll over. On their own they never reach the 100 a Quality clip needs, but they cover two Veo Fast clips a day at 20 credits each, which makes patient B-roll effectively $0. Non-subscribers may be blocked from video during peak hours, roughly 2 PM to 5 PM UTC.

On AI Pro a credit is worth two cents, so a Quality clip is $2.00, or $0.25 per generated second, and our 23 generations cost $46 and 2,300 credits. Pro gives you 1,000 a month: 10 Quality clips, 80 generated seconds, about 27 finished seconds at our ratio. On the monthly allowance alone, one minute of Quality footage does not fit in a month of Pro.

The help page says credits are shared across the account, but it does not say whether daily and monthly credits can be combined for one 100-credit clip. Fast on Pro is 460 credits for the same minute, about $9; Lite is $4.60.

At $199.99 a credit is worth eight tenths of a cent: Quality falls to $18.40 per finished minute, Fast to $1.84 and Lite to $0.92. That is the cheapest Veo footage anywhere, if you were paying $200 a month regardless.

What does a finished minute of Seedance cost?

About $42 for Seedance 2.5 at 720p through ByteDance's official BytePlus API, $19 at 480p and $102 at 1080p. The cheaper Seedance 2.0 tiers run $14.40 to $27 on the same API. Through credit platforms a 720p minute of 2.5 runs $165 to $273 at annual-plan rates, and Dreamina's $0.29 first month covers 42 seconds before the plan renews at $15.

The official rate card is the BytePlus ModelArk pricing page, last updated October 19, 2026 and read October 21. Seedance 2.5 bills per million video tokens, and the page's worked examples for a 5-second 16:9 clip are $0.514 at 480p, $1.156 at 720p and $2.843 at 1080p, stated as $0.103, $0.231 and $0.569 per second.

A video reference raises the price because its duration counts toward the tokens: the same 720p clip runs $1.244 to $4.838 with input video. By our reading of the formula, an audio-only reference bills at the no-video rate.

The same page prices Seedance 2.0 at $0.15 per second at 720p, 2.0 Fast at $0.12 and 2.0 Mini at $0.08, which is $27.00, $21.60 and $14.40 per finished minute. Seedance 2.0 Fast is the like-for-like rival to Veo Fast, and Seedance 2.5 is the rival to Veo Standard. If your shots do not need 2.5's 30-second passes, 2.0 at $27 is the better buy.

Our Seedance link goes to a credit platform that resells the model at its own rates. It is an independent reseller, not ByteDance; its own footer says it is not affiliated with any AI model vendor. On October 21, 2026 its Seedance 2.5 page charged 12 credits per second at 480p, 23 at 720p and 48 at 1080p.

The plan page, on annual billing, listed Basic at $9.90 a month for 150 credits, Pro at $19.90 for 350, Max at $34.90 for 750 and Pro Max at $59.90 for 1,500. That is 4.0 to 6.6 cents a credit, so a 720p second costs $0.92 to $1.52, four to six times the API rate, and Pro's 350 monthly credits buy 15 seconds of 720p. The page carried a banner reading "Price increase coming soon."

Three things soften that: credits roll over while you subscribe, annual plans issue the full year on day one, so Pro Max starts with 18,000, and one-time packs last about ten years, per the platform's FAQ.

Dreamina, ByteDance's consumer app, started a new offer on October 21, 2026: eligible US accounts pay $0.29 for a first month of Basic with 1,575 credits, Seedance 2.5 draws 37 credits per 720p second, and the listed renewal is $15 a month. That first month buys about 42 seconds. Assuming the renewal month carries the same 1,575 credits, which the page does not state, the renewal works out to about $0.35 a second, or $63.43 per finished minute. Users of the earlier 90 percent offer are not eligible.

Route, all 720p unless notedRate per generated secondPer finished minute (180 s)
Seedance 2.5, Dreamina $0.29 first month$0.0068Covers 42 s only
Veo 3.1 Fast, Flow on AI Ultra $199.99$0.01$1.84
Veo 3.1 Fast, Flow on AI Pro$0.05$9.20
Veo 3.1 Fast, Vertex AI, video only$0.08$14.40
Seedance 2.0 Mini, BytePlus API$0.08$14.40
Veo 3.1 Fast, Gemini API, with audio$0.10$18.00
Veo 3.1 Quality, Flow on AI Ultra $199.99$0.10$18.40
Seedance 2.5, BytePlus API, 480p$0.103$18.54
Seedance 2.0 Fast, BytePlus API$0.12$21.60
Seedance 2.0, BytePlus API$0.15$27.00
Veo 3.1 Standard, Vertex AI, video only$0.20$36.00
Seedance 2.5, BytePlus API$0.231$41.58
Veo 3.1 Quality, Flow on AI Pro$0.25$46.00
Seedance 2.5, Dreamina Basic at $15 renewal (see note)$0.35$63.43
Veo 3.1 Standard, Gemini API, with audio$0.40$72.00
Seedance 2.5, credit plan Pro Max, annual$0.92$165.32

Plan rows value a credit at plan price over monthly allowance; Flow rows assume 23 clips of 8 seconds. The Dreamina renewal row assumes the renewal month carries the same 1,575 credits, which the page does not state.

So which is cheaper per finished minute?

Veo 3.1, on both like-for-like pairs. Veo 3.1 Fast at $18 a finished minute on the Gemini API undercuts Seedance 2.0 Fast at $21.60, and Veo Standard bought video-only on Vertex AI, at $36, undercuts Seedance 2.5 on its official API at $41.58. Only Dreamina's $0.29 first month beats every Veo route, and only for 42 seconds.

Seedance 2.5 does beat Veo Standard with audio, both through the BytePlus API at $41.58 and through Dreamina at $63.43 on renewal, if that month carries the same credits. Setting Seedance 2.5 against Veo Fast compares a flagship with a fast tier, so we leave that pairing out. At the bottom of the range, Seedance 2.0 Mini and video-only Veo Fast on Vertex AI tie at $14.40.

Read the table from the bottom and credit platforms are where Seedance gets expensive: wrapped in a credit plan, the model costs more per second than Veo at 4K, so buy it through the API if price matters. Read it from the top and Veo's cheapest rows need a subscription, $199.99 a month for the $1.84 minute and AI Pro for the $9.20 Fast minute. Either way, that is a price for footage, not yet a price for a music video.

Why does Seedance still earn the performance shots?

Because it can hear the song. Seedance 2.5 takes up to 10 audio clips as references and generates up to 30 seconds in one pass, while Veo 3.1 accepts no audio input at all. Every lip-sync line or beat cut in Veo is a guess you fix in the edit, and every retake is billed.

Google's model card lists text and image as Veo 3.1 inputs, audio as not supported, and video as output only. Google's video docs, last updated June 30, 2026, say Gemini Omni Flash accepts audio input alongside text, images and video, and we have not tested whether it can sync picture to a song.

ByteDance's Seedance 2.5 announcement of July 31, 2026 describes the opposite design: single-pass generation extended from 15 to 30 seconds, multi-round extensions that hold characters and pacing, and up to 30 images, 10 video clips and 10 audio clips as references. A chorus is 20 to 30 seconds: one Seedance generation with the chorus as the reference, or three or four Veo clips, three seams and a sync pass in your editor.

We have no take ratio for performance footage on either tool that is clean enough to publish, and we will not invent one. Our tables treat both at three takes per keeper, which flatters Veo on any shot where a mouth or a cut has to land on a beat. Our Seedance lip-sync guide covers getting a song into the model and what goes wrong when you do.

What does a hybrid music video cost?

About $70 for a three-minute song at 720p: two finished minutes of Veo 3.1 Fast B-roll bought video-only on Vertex AI at $28.80, plus one finished minute of Seedance 2.5 performance footage at $41.58 on the BytePlus API. That is about $23 per finished minute, against $42 for all-Seedance 2.5 or $72 for all-Veo Standard with audio. With Fast on the Gemini API instead, the total is about $78.

The split follows the audio question. Landscapes, objects, hands, weather and anything that cuts on the editor's timeline do not need to hear the song: send those to Veo Fast at $0.08 a second video-only on Vertex AI, or $0.10 on the Gemini API, where you mute the audio you paid for. The singer, the dancers, the drop, anything where the picture has to move with the music, goes to Seedance with the matching section of the song as the audio reference. Our Veo 3.1 music video tutorial covers the storyboard and sync workflow on the Google side.

If you will not touch an API console, the logic holds. Flow on AI Pro gives you Veo Fast B-roll at about $9 a finished minute. For the performance minute, render Seedance drafts at 480p for 12 credits a second, promote only the keepers to 720p, and treat Dreamina's $0.29 month as 42 seconds for the shots that matter most. Our Seedance 2.5 pricing breakdown works through the credit math platform by platform if you want to start on the credit plan and move to the API later.

What should you watch out for on each side?

On Veo, the Flow allowance, the audio you pay for but throw away, and requests that bill twice. On Seedance, the gap between the API rate and what credit platforms charge, which was four to six times on October 21, 2026, and a 1080p rate higher than Veo Standard with audio.

Primary sources

Try Seedance free — daily credits↗

Estimate your render cost with our free credit calculator.

Get the Director’s Guide + monthly prompt packs

The five-part scene template, camera vocabulary the engines obey, and tool-pricing updates when they change. One email a month, no spam, unsubscribe anytime.

Frequently asked questions

Is Seedance or Veo 3.1 cheaper for a full three-minute music video?+

Veo 3.1 Fast, at about $43 for three finished minutes at 720p bought video-only on Vertex AI, or $54 on the Gemini API, with three takes per kept shot, read October 21, 2026. All-Seedance 2.5 on ByteDance's API is about $125. Our hybrid, Veo Fast for B-roll and Seedance 2.5 for the performance minute, lands near $70, because only Seedance takes the song as an audio reference.

Can Veo 3.1 sync a video to my song?+

Not inside the model. Google's Veo 3.1 model card, last updated October 16, 2026, lists audio as not supported for input, so Veo generates its own sound, which you mute, and you align cuts to your track in an editor. Google's docs say Gemini Omni Flash accepts audio input, which we have not tested. Seedance 2.5 accepts up to 10 audio clips as references.

How many Veo 3.1 Quality clips does Google AI Pro buy each month?+

Ten from the monthly allowance. Google's Flow help page, read October 21, 2026, prices a Veo 3.1 Quality generation at 100 credits and gives AI Pro subscribers 1,000 credits a month, so Pro covers 10 clips of 8 seconds, about 27 finished seconds at three takes per keeper. Subscribers also get 50 daily credits, and the page does not say whether they combine with monthly credits.

Why is Seedance so much more expensive on credit platforms than on the API?+

Because credit plans resell the model with a markup and a monthly cap. On October 21, 2026 the credit platform our link goes to, an independent reseller, priced credits at 4.0 to 6.6 cents and charged 23 credits per 720p second of Seedance 2.5, or $0.92 to $1.52 a second. ByteDance's own API lists $0.231. The difference buys rollover, packs that last about ten years and a browser interface.

Is the Dreamina $0.29 Seedance offer worth it for a music video?+

For about 42 seconds of footage, yes. Dreamina's page, dated October 21, 2026, gives eligible US accounts 1,575 credits for $0.29 in the first month, and Seedance 2.5 draws 37 credits per 720p second. That covers one chorus with retakes. The plan renews at $15 a month, about $0.35 a second, assuming the renewal month carries the same 1,575 credits, which the page does not state.

Does Veo 3.1 Standard ever beat Seedance 2.5 on price?+

Yes, when you buy it video-only on Vertex AI. Google's Vertex pricing page, read October 21, 2026, lists Veo 3.1 Standard at $0.20 a second without audio, against Seedance 2.5 at $0.231 on ByteDance's API. Since a music video mutes Veo's audio anyway, that is $36 per finished minute versus $41.58. Through the Gemini API, which bills audio at $0.40 a second, Seedance 2.5 is cheaper.

Ready to try it? Seedance is free to start — daily credits refresh every day. Make a video free ↗